2007 NFL Lester Awards

Jan 2, 2008


The NFL regular season has wrapped up, and it’s time to hand out the hardware. There were many players who had impressive seasons, but only the select few were good enough to take home a Lester Award. Let’s get the ceremony started:

MVP: Tom Brady
Just like last year when LaDainian Tomlinson ran away with the award, there really isn’t any competition. He broke Peyton Manning’s record with 50 TD passes. He led the league with 4806 passing yards, which was good for third all-time for a single-season. He led his team to a 16-0 regular season.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Adrian Peterson
There was Adrian Peterson and everybody else. He led the NFC with 1341 rushing yards despite missing two games. He broke the single-game rushing record with 296 against San Diego, which was his second game of 220+ yards. He scored 13 total TDs. His numbers would have been even better if his coach A) utilized him better in the beginning of the season and/or B) wasn’t too stubborn/stupid to make an adjustment after San Francisco came up with a game plan to stop him.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Patrick Willis
He didn’t get the ink that the first two winners, but Willis was just as dominating. His 174 tackles were 33 more than the next closest player (D.J. Williams). That’s over two tackles a game more. He also had four sacks.

Comeback Player of the Year: Kurt Warner
Well, Ricky Williams isn’t going to take home. It’s hard to overlook what Kurt Warner did this year. In 14 games he threw for 3417 yards and 27 TDs, which is as many as he’s thrown in his previous five seasons.

Defensive Player of the Year: DeMarcus Ware
DeMarcus was a terror on Quarterbacks this year racking up an impressive 14 sacks. He also tallied 84 tackles, which was the most by anyone with 10+ sacks.

Most Improved Player: Derek Anderson
Who the heck saw 3787 yards and 29 TDs coming from Anderson?  Surely not the Browns or they wouldn’t have traded next year’s first round pick for Brady Quinn. Clearly not the Ravens or they would have never traded him.

Coach of the Year: Bill Belichick
Love him or hate him, he guided his team to a 16-0 record. He’s not going to win the “Nice Guy” Award, “Best Dressed” Award, or “Sportsmanship” Award, but it’s hard to ignore the season New England had.

All-Lester First Team
Tom Brady
LaDainian Tomlinson
Brian Westbrook
Randy Moss
Terrell Owens
Jason Witten
Rob Bironas

All-Lester Second Team
Tony Romo
Adrian Peterson
Clinton Portis
Braylon Edwards
Reggie Wayne
Tony Gonzalez
Mason Crosby

All-Lester Third Team
Peyton Manning
Joseph Addai
Jamal Lewis
Larry Fitzgerald
T.J. Houshmandzadeh
Antonio Gates
Nick Folk

Would you change any of my selections? If so, let me know.

Posted by | Categories: Fantasy Football, NFL | Tagged: awards, NFL |
. .

2 Responses so far | Have Your Say!

  1. Big Dog JP
    January 2nd, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    Great Picks. I would definitely put Reggie Wayne alongside Big Moss on the first team rather than Terrible Owens. Not too bitter am I? Oh wait I would definitely want Braylon and Fitzy teamed up together. Best young crop in the league now with Santonio Holmes and TJ.

    also, I hope you have permission on the photo usage of that ball. even though you did change it to make it your own piece of artwork.

    we’ll see. my lawyers will be in touch with your creative department.

  2. Ryan Lester
    January 2nd, 2008 at 3:27 pm #

    JP – Yeah, maybe Wayne deserves to be starting. Pretty much a toss up. Santonio and TJ are the best #2 WRs in the game.

    Funny line about the football.

Leave a Comment

Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties