2010 MLB Hall of Fame Ballot

Dec 2, 2009

The 2010 Hall of Fame Ballots have been released. I am admittedly more lenient than most in terms of who I think is worthy of enshrinement. That said here is how I break down this year’s crop.

Slam Dunk
Roberto Alomar

Let them In Already
Bert Blyleven
Andre Dawson
Jack Morris
Mark McGwire
Lee Smith

In a Couple Years
Barry Larkin
Edgar Martinez
Dale Murphy
Dave Parker
Tim Raines
Don Mattingly
Alan Trammell

Kevin Appier
Harold Baines
Ellis Burks
Andres Galarraga
Pat Hentgen
Mike Jackson
Erik Karros
Ray Lankford
Fred McGriff
Shane Reynolds
David Segui
Robin Ventura
Todd Zeile

Past Chronicles
Dick Allen
Roberto Alomar
Richie Ashburn*
Earl Averill*
Harold Baines

Dan Bancroft*
Jake Beckley*

Albert Belle
Jim Bottomley*
Pete Browning

Jim Bunning *
Bert Byleven
Joe Carter
Orlando Cepeda*
Rocky Colavito
Earle Combs*
Dave Concepcion
David Cone
Roger Connor*
Larry Corcoran

Stan Coveleski*

Mike Cuellar
Kiki Cuyler*
Bill Dahlen
Jim Edmonds
George Davis
Andre Dawson
Larry Doby*
Bobby Doerr*
Jimmie Dykes (Player/Manager)
Dwight Evans
Rick Ferrell*
Wes Ferrell
Chuck Finley
Steve Finley
Nellie Fox*
John Franco

Gary Gaetti
Steve Garvey
Lefty Gomez*
Luis Gonzalez
Dwight Gooden
Joe Gordon
Mark Grace
Bobby Grich
Charlie Grimm (Player/Manager)
Ron Guidry
Chick Hafey*
Jesse Haines*

Billy Herman*
Keith Hernandez
Orel Hershiser
Whitey Herzog (Manager)
Gil Hodges
Ralph Houk (Manager)
Waite Hoyt*
Shoeless Joe Jackson
Travis Jackson*
Tommy John
Bob Johnson
Addie Joss*
Jim Kaat
George Kell*
Joe Kelley*
George Kelly*
Tom Kelly (Manager)
Chuck Klein*
Jerry Koosman
Bill James & Pete Palmer
Barry Larkin
Tony Lazzeri*
Freddie Lindstrom*
Mickey Lolich
Ernie Lombardi*
Fred Lynn
Sherry Magee

Roger Maris
Rube Marquard*
Billy Martin (Player/Manager)
Dennis Martinez
Edgar Martinez
Bobby Matthews
Don Mattingly
Gene Mauch (Manager)
Carl Mays
Bill Mazeroski*
Fred McGriff

Mark McGwire
Bid McPhee
Johnny Mize*
Paul Molitor*
Jack Morris
Tony Mullane
Dale Murphy
Graig Nettles
Hal Newhouser*
Lefty O’Doul
Tony Oliva
Al Oliver

Buck O’Neill & Minnie Minoso
Dave Parker
Wes Parker
Lance Parrish
Vada Pinson
Boog Powell
Tim Raines
Willie Randolph
Pee Wee Reese*
Allie Reynolds
Jim Rice
Phil Rizzuto*
Brooks Robinson*
Pete Ro$e
Amos Rusie*
Jimmy Ryan
Ron Santo
Curt Schilling
Red Schoendienst* (Player/Manager)
Ted Simmons
Enos Slaughter*
Lee Smith
Rusty Staub
Vern Stephens
Dave Stieb
Mel Stottlemyre
Harry Stovey
Sam Thompson
Luís Tiant
Joe Torre
Alan Trammell

George Van Haltren
Arky Vaughan*
Mo Vaughn
Bobby Veach
Mickey Vernon
Frank Viola
Bucky Walters
Mickey Welch*
Lou Whitaker
Deacon White
Bernie Williams
Vic Willis*
Maury Wills
Hack Wilson*
Ross Youngs*
Veterans Committee Ballot

* Signifies actual Hall of Famers

. .

13 Responses so far | Have Your Say!

  1. David Funk
    December 2nd, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    I think this is the best chance for The Hawk to get in since it isn’t a strong year for first ballot HOFers. If Dawson gets in, I’m going to see about going to Cooperstown in 2010 since he was my favorite player as a kid.

    Also, I’m interested to see how many votes McGwire gets in 2010, too.

  2. LestersLegends
    December 2nd, 2009 at 12:57 pm #

    Nice. Hawk should be in there.

    I came around on Big Mac.

  3. Tim
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    whoa whoa whoa whoa whoa

    You gave Mattingly an “in a couple years” while putting Fred McGriff between Ray Lankford and Shane Reynolds on the never list. Really?

    Don was a great player, and has an MVP and a lot of gold gloves to his credit. Fred, however, won one more World Series than Don, has an All Star Game MVP to his credit, led the league in homeruns twice and more than doubled the Dons lifetime homerun total, finishing with 493 round trippers. And that’s all done, most of us assume, as one of the few “clean” players, a notion that is all but sure to get Griffey elected to the Hall when it’s his turn.

    Now, I’m not saying Fred will get in. At least Blyleven, Dawson, Morris, Raines, and maybe Smith definitely need to go in first, and you could argue Larkin, Morris, and some other guys too. But a lot of people are dismissing McGriff a little too quickly. The guy got it done for many many years – I should hope he gets a few more votes than Shane Reynolds.

  4. Tim
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    You also wrote this in your little chronicle on him:
    “He was never one of the big time 4o+ HR hitters, but he was steady. Had he hit seven more HRs he’d be a lock for the Hall of Fame. Even without those seven HRs though, I’d still put him in when his time came up. I wouldn’t say his a first ballot guy, but I feel he’s worthy.”

    So heh heh heh…

  5. LestersLegends
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    An All-Star MVP doesn’t really do anything for me. Mattingly was one of the best players in the league from 84-89. McGriff was good and steady, but never one of the best of the best.

    I know I had put him in before, but I have evolved and became a little pickier with who I feel should be in.

  6. Tim
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    Gotcha. Well…I am extremely biased because Crime Dog is my favorite player of all time. But I think he belongs in. Other than that, I do like your list.

  7. Rotoprofessor
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    Personally, I’d put Mattingly & McGriff in the “never” category. McGriff is more of a compiler to me and while Mattingly was good, the back injury robbed him of his chance. He simply wasn’t good enough for long enough to belong.

  8. LestersLegends
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    The more I look at Mattingly, he probably should be out. I just remember growing up how feared he was.

  9. Rotoprofessor
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    And Lester, u’ve become pickier? You’re s till letting in like a dozen guys!!

    Murphy, PArker, Trammell, Raines, Mattingly… None of them belong in my book

  10. LestersLegends
    December 2nd, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    I have. Actually Murphy, Parker, and Mattingly are beginning to feel like Never guys. Trammell and Raines, though, belong in my book.

  11. Larry
    December 2nd, 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    I do not think Alomar will get in for a couple of years because of the spitting indecent, I doubt McGuire will ever get in The others should go in, I would have no objection to any of “in a Couple of Years” guys, Raines should be now,
    Some of the Never should go into the Hall of “Pretty darn Good”

    “No” to Keven Appier and David Segui??? WHY????????? (as I go stomping my feet mad at you)

  12. LestersLegends
    December 2nd, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    Yeah, Alomar may have to wait because of that, which should open the door for the likes of Hawk and Bert.

    It was a league-wide problem so I’m not sure singling out McGwire is very fair.

  13. Larry
    December 2nd, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    I do not think any of those guys will get in, (Bonds and even A-Rod) Or if they do they may have to wait till their last couple of years or even the last year they are on the ballot, The Old-Timers Committe wil not vote for any of them, Heck they would reject Ruth and Ted Williams if they were voting for them.

Leave a Comment

Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties