Will Mark Ingram Restore the Heisman?

Dec 13, 2009

Mark Ingram was the first power running back to take home the Heisman Trophy since Ricky Williams and Ron Dayne won it in 1998 and 1999 respectively. He ends a string of three consecutive Quarterback winners. In fact, Quarterbacks have won eight of the last nine Heisman Trophies.

Too often it seemed that the QB of the #1 team would take home college’s most prestigious award. Of those eight QBs, only Carson Palmer went on to success in the NFL. Tim Tebow and Sam Bradford haven’t had their opportunity yet, but I’m not one who thinks they’ll have productive pro careers.

When the Heisman was at its best was between 1968-1988. That stretch produced Hall of Famers O.J. Simpson, Tony Dorsett, Earl Campbell, Marcus Allen, and Barry Sanders. It also produced quality RBs Billy Sims, Herschel Walker, Mike Rozier, and Bo Jackson.

I’m not saying that Ingram belongs in the first batch of Backs, but perhaps he can help buck the trend of glorifying the QB and prompt Heisman voters to take the best player and not just the best QB.  After all, he became Alabama’s first Heisman winner so anything is possible.

. .

2 Responses so far | Have Your Say!

  1. CCC
    December 13th, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Suh was easily the “most outstanding player” in college football = which is what the Heisman is suppose to honor

    not a guy who got benched a few weeks ago, as well as outperformed by Gehart in most rushing categories

    the Heisman proves once again it is a sham award that it pc over performance

  2. LestersLegends
    December 13th, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    The Heisman voters have a long way to go before they give it to a defensive player, but it was nice Suh was a finalist.

    Gehart did have better numbers, . I suppose you’re right. Nothing has changed. They gave it to the best player on the best team. It just doesn’t happen to be a QB, like when Bush won it.

Leave a Comment

Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties